Sometimes the blind leading the blind just works…   2 comments

So I am sitting here, at the computer, with nothing to do (unless I count Tweeting as ‘something’). Yes, I am at work but this is an unusually slow day. As a matter of fact, the past few weeks have been pretty slow. Our ‘peek’ times fall around registration and orientation days. When I am bored, my mind begins to wander….

 ‘What am I supposed to be doing?’

‘Am I in the right place?’

‘Am I better suited for a K-12 classroom?’

‘Why do I feel like I am not making a contribution?’

*Sigh* I feel a little guilty for having these thoughts, especially since I’m an Academic Advisor at a technical college. After all, students come to me (us) with questions regarding course selection, career choices, etc. How in the heck can I (correctly) advise someone on a career choice when I don’t even know what I want to do???

I guess I just have to take comfort in knowing that sometimes the blind leading the blind just works. Especially when they smile, say ‘Thank you so much!’ and come back to see me.

2 responses to “Sometimes the blind leading the blind just works…

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You do the best where you are. In higher education, there is a lot of hurry up and wait when it comes to educating and assisting students. All you can do is listen to them and help them the best you can; doesn’t matter how well you know the system if you can’t apply it to what they need at that time. And I know that you’ll do/have been doing an excellent job at that.

    Take advantage of the down time to breathe.

Leave a Reply

