Back in Stride Again!   10 comments

Well, it’s official: I am back at work! Can you believe it? I can’t…I am so excited (and tired) that it hasn’t really hit me that I am officially employed again after almost 4 years. Actually, I have two part-time jobs now. One is a seasonal position and the other is a grant-funded Academic Advisor position with a local technical college.

The Academic Advisor opportunity literally came out of nowhere. I applied for other positions with this particular college in the past but never secured an interview. Honestly, I applied for the position and went on about my business of working the part-time job and looking for positions elsewhere…then they called me for an interview! Like several people told me: It would only be a matter of time before I found something (or something found me). Patience really is a virtue, huh?

We (there are four new advisors) just finished our second week of training yesterday, but we actually had the opportunity to do some hands-on advisor-training for the past 2 days because the Winter quarter begins January 8th and we had to enroll LOTS of new students. The actual advising is the interesting part. We get to work with students from all age ranges, ethnic and racial backgrounds, etc. The majority of the students we have advised thus far are recent high school graduates (less than 10 years out of high school) who have decided to earn a degree, diploma, or certificate. It is interesting to talk to a lot of the students, especially those with very high test scores because they could have easily gone on to a 2 or 4-year college upon graduating from high school but for whatever reason, they did not.

As a former teacher, I cannot help but wonder how the ‘system’ fails so many students with potential. Sure, not everyone has the potential to attend an Ivy League, but a lot of students that I’ve seen could have been successful in another higher education setting. Despite the obvious flaws in the system, I am eager to meet students where they are and hopefully help them create the path that leads to where they want to be.

10 responses to “Back in Stride Again!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Back in Stride Again! « EducationCEO’s Blog « Parents 4 democratic Schools

  2. Hey Monise! Great to see you are working again! Welcome to my world — advising at a community college. I love it, and I’m sure you will too.

    To reply to your comment about students who could have done better at another school… Some students choose community or technical colleges because of the cost. It’s cheaper to do 2 years at the community college, get straight A’s, then transfer to a 4-year school with a full scholarship. Community colleges and technical schools are places of opportunity, not a last resort (although I am sure you did not mean that…).

    Good luck to you!

    • Thanks! I didn’t mean that, I am just frustrated that they were never really advised of/exposed to their options so they spend 5+ years trying to figure out what to do when they could have started with us! I am really excited about this opportunity and looking forward to working with the students (I have to stop saying ‘kids’ because not all of them are kids!).

      Monise

  3. YAY! You know what’s coming, right? (wait for it…)

    (_\_) (_|_) (_/_)

    I’m glad you’re back to doing something in your field! I think this job is going to be a great experience for you! Keep us posted as much as you can…

  4. Congrats! This sounds perfect for you. The students will benefit from your wisdom and life experience and I am sure it will bring lots of inspiration and perspective to you as well. Good advice is in short supply for most young people, and I could use some myself at age 47… Go go out there and do what you can, and remember to set boundaries that are realistic for yourself about what you CAN do, so you don’t burn out.:\ Cheers!

  5. Sounds like very interesting work!! CONGRATULATIONS on being employed again!! (This is @sharmitchell on Twitter.)

  6. Pingback: Damn Good Education Daily « Parents 4 democratic Schools

  7. congratulations! You know I’m an advisor as well, so if you have any questions or need advice, feel free…

Leave a Reply

