Women have no place in education….   2 comments

DISCLAIMER: The thoughts contained in this blog post are those of the writer and the writer only. I don’t really care if you agree with me or not, but this needs to be said; I have never been able willing to ignore the elephant in the room. If the millions of people ‘concerned’ about the state of education were genuinely concerned, then this post would not be necessary.

Ok, now to explain the title: Women really do have a place in education, but I can’t help but wonder if working as a classroom teacher in some ways limits our opportunities to assume leadership roles, e.g., administration, superintendency, charter school developer, etc. Now I know there are some very dedicated, qualified, and damned good classroom teachers who have absolutely no desire to transition into a leadership role. I can and do respect that. But what about those who do? At what cost? What must she/they exchange in order to exercise their dynamic and visionary leadership skills and leading their staff in transforming a school that ensures the success of every child?

In previous blog posts I have given ‘shout-outs’ to Principal El, Dr. Steve Perry, and Principal Kafele for their tireless efforts in ensuring that minority kids and those from low-income families receive the best quality education, thereby increasing their post-secondary options. I applaud these men for their work, but where are the women? I kinda feel an Alex Kotlowitz-esque book entitled, ‘There are no women here: Exposing the glass-ceiling in public education,” coming on…I bet it would sell but I digress.

How many women leaders can you name? I am sure we can all name Marva Collins, whom I respect and admire, but is she the only one? Seriously? Where are we? I need to hear from you! I am really wondering if a penis is a prerequisite for getting professional respect and an equal opportunity at making a difference. I shudder at the thought….

I’m out!

2 responses to “Women have no place in education….

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Respect from whom, exactly? That’d help narrow down an answer. Strong women dont ask for respect. Somehow, I think youre well aware of that:)

    • Ha ha! You know me so well. I meant respect in terms of just in the workplace. A former admin told a colleague to tell her husband to take a day off the next time the baby was sick. A woman, especially a mother, would never say something like that to another mother.

Leave a Reply

