Do minority groups need their own thinktank?   Leave a comment

As I was reading the tweets of folks I follow in the Education field, I got to thinking: Some of Georgia’s education problems could be solved if we had some national attention, a la California, New Orleans, or D.C. Then I went a step further. Would a minority-developed and led thinktank make noticeable strides in educating parents, increasing advocacy, and actually closing the achievement gap? I know that some people are going to misinterpret my line of thinking, so let me clarify. I am not promoting segregating students, schools, etc. In reality, many of our country’s public schools have done an outstanding job of re-segregating any way (Yes, that was sarcasm). What I propose is creating a thinktank with some of the minority pioneers, movers and shakers, and decision-makers within the field of Education. No, I do not mean President Obama either. While I appreciate his desire to improve Education and close the achievement gap, I DO NOT agree with his decision to promote a non-educator to the rank of Secretary of Education. But that’s another blog post entirely.

Back to the issue at hand. There are many education thinktanks in existence; they receive major contributions from organizations such as The Broad Foundation, The Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, The Eli Lily Foundation, and countless others. But something is amiss: Many of the high-ranking decision makers in those organizations are non-minority. If we are to have honest and candid dialogue about students from low-income families, minority backgrounds, and all the other ‘at-risk’ groups (again, sarcasm), then members of those groups who have succeeded in spite of and because of those labels need to have a seat at the table. I get especially frustrated when ‘experts’ start spewing statistics about kids born to single-parent households with regard to graduating, going to college, etc. According to the ‘experts’, I should have never graduated from high school without at least one child and I certainly should have never graduated from the University of Notre Dame. Going by data alone, I should not be near the completion of a Doctorate in Education either. But that’s the problem: We are treating kids and their families like statistics-inanimae objects, when they are so much more than that. If those ‘experts’ insist on looking at the numbers, let’s start looking at the number of kids oorn to two-parent families who get pregnant in high school and never step foot on a college campus. When  dialogue becomes two-sided, maybe then I will give consideration to its validity.

Let’s face it: Asking a group of non-educators or non-minorities to address a problem to which they have no first-hand knowledge is akin to asking a group of podiatrists and dentists to conduct open-heart surgery. It just don’t make sense! (Sorry Grammar and English teachers!)

Leave a Reply

