Not an expert, just full of common sense   Leave a comment

This is my first blog. I was hesitant to start one since I spend so much time on Twitter and Facebook (and even adjusted to the word limits), but I thought now would be a good time to expand my social networking repertoire..so here I go!

I have spent the past 2.5 years developing a Visual & Performing Arts Charter School in Snellville, GA, approximately 35 minutes northeast of Atlanta. To say the chartering experience was filled with ups & downs, twists & turns, roadblocks & deterrents would be an understatement. Despite all the obstacles, frustration, and politics I am glad that I assumed the challenge. I have learned a considerable amount about the inner-workings of school systems: The stuff they do not want the general public to know. I gained a little insight by working as a Special Education Teacher for 5 years, but even that experience did not prepare me for the lessons learned in developing a charter school. (See, I am a little long-winded for Twitter & Facebook!)

As I continue to revise (ok, completely rewrite) the charter petition, I have spent more time researching and ‘decoding’ much of the Education mumbo-jumbo, e.g., AYP, NCLB, etc. I have also noticed that districts and state departments of education tend to mislead parents and community members by not truthfully reporting on student performance and issues. I will cover these topics as truthfully as I can, because I believe that informed and educated parents will ensure that their children, as well as those of other parents, will receive the highest quality education, regardless of race, socio-economic status, etc. Hence, the title of this first blog. I do not claim to be an expert, but I do have enough common sense to know that the elected officials will not always provide us with the most accurate information.

If you have a topic of interest or comments, I will gladly welcome them!

Thanks for taking the time to read. I hope to share some new information and keep parents informed!

Posted October 16, 2009 by moniseseward in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

