Don’t worry, I’m not going anywhere….   1 comment

A few months ago I made a commitment to do better at writing blogs. After all, if I am trying to engage people on education topics and flex my writing skills in preparation for the forthcoming books (yes, that’s plural), then I sure as heck should have something to say! Not only that, I need to make sure that I am not merely ‘saying’ something, but saying something of importance. I want people to think about what I share, both while they are reading and after they’ve finished. Otherwise, what’s the point?

Another reason why I have not written a blog post in over a week is because I have a lot of projects on my plate right now. Every once in a while, I get these creativity rushes and I get bombarded with several ideas at one time. Naturally, I get a little overwhelmed and have to force myself to unplug for a day or two. That’s kind of what I’ve been doing. Last night I finished a post that I pray will get published on the ‘Race-talk‘ blog, sponsored by the Kirwan Institute. As if that weren’t enough to keep me busy, I have also started my own summer reading which includes re-reading The Mis-Education of the Negro by Carter G. Woodson, father of Black History Month; I am also making a commitment to finish reading Frederick Hess’ Education Unbound: The Promise and Practice of Greenfield Schooling. After reading only a few pages I honestly lost interest because this book, much like other media, only examines the ‘surface’ success of programs like Teach for America (TFA), Knowledge is Power Program (KIPP), and the unique leadership style of Michelle Rhee. Anyone who has followed my blog or Twitter conversations with @IraSocol already knows how I feel about these programs. If my submission does not get picked-up by ‘Race-talk’ I will definitely post it here!

Oh,  I almost forgot! I am also working on a book/movement titled ‘Wake the Artist, Change the World!’ and I have already lined-up some very special people to interview. Wow! Now I see why I get overwhelmed! It’s all good though because I am starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel, even though I had to turn myself around and start over a few times.

So, until later, later!

One response to “Don’t worry, I’m not going anywhere….

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Keep up the good work. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

